Call for Nominations (Closed)

ACML Distinguished Contribution Award

The ACML Steering Committee (SC) decided to establish the ACML Distinguished Contribution Award from 2018. More details about the policy can be seen at

The Award

The awardee will be invited to attend the conference of that year and give a 10 minutes' talk (not necessarily technical) at the banquet. They will also receive travel support, an award and a plaque (with name carved).


  1. Steering Committee voting members cannot be nominated for the award.
  2. The awardee must have significant relationship with ACML, e.g.,
    • steering committee, general chair, program chair, or
    • 2+ times as area chair, other chairs, or
    • 4+ times as program committee member, or
    • 5+ papers published in ACML, or
    • ...
    These are just examples, and the significance is to be judged by the award committee.
  3. This is a premium award of machine learning in the geographical scope of ACML, and thus, the nominee should be well-known within the ACML community.


  1. Anyone can nominate a candidate for the award.
  2. Award nomination material: Note that the nominee should be well-known within the community. The nomination requires only: 1) the name and current affiliation of the nominee, and 2) at most one paragraph describing the relationship of the nominee with ACML.
  3. Please email award nominations to: by May 10, 2019.


  1. The SC will appoint an award committee consisting of 3 people, in each year's SC meeting, for the award to be presented the following year.
  2. Each year there will be, at most one awardee, who must have contributed significantly to promote machine learning in the Geo-regions covered by ACML, in research and service.
  3. Award committee makes a recommendation with citation to the SC, before Jun. 30.
  4. The SC will vote to approve or disapprove the recommendation: If approved, the SC chair will send notification to the awardee by Jul. 15. If disapproved, the SC will not present the award this year.
  5. 2019 Award Committee: Hiroshi Motoda (Osaka University, Japan), Wray Buntine (Monash University, Australia), Masashi Sugiyama (RIKEN AOP and University of Tokyo, Japan).